Skip to main content

2013 Household Hazardous Waste Collection Program schedule announced

The Regional Household Hazardous Waste Collection Programcoordinated by the Mid-America Regional Council (MARC) Solid Waste Management District (SWMD), will host nine mobile collection events in 2013, providing residents of 31 communities in Cass, Clay, Jackson, Platte and Ray counties with the opportunity to safely dispose of household hazardous waste.

Most people have dangerous products in their homes, and many may not even know it. Maybe it’s leftover drain cleaner under the sink or lawn chemicals stored in the garage, or perhaps leftover paint in the basement. The chemicals in these products can poison, corrode, explode, or ignite easily when handled improperly. Common household hazardous products include paint, paint strippers, varnishes, adhesives and glues, hobby supplies, batteries, motor oil, compact florescent light bulbs, antifreeze, lawn and garden chemicals, and pesticides. Household hazardous waste cannot be thrown out with regular trash.

Residents of participating communities can safely dispose of household hazardous waste at no charge at any of the nine mobile collection events or at two permanent facilities.

2013 SWMD Mobile Collection Event Schedule

  • Blue Springs, partnering with Jackson County, April 20
  • Pleasant Hill, partnering with Harrisonville, May 18
  • Kearney, June 1 (Antifreeze, batteries, motor oil and paint only)
  • Gladstone, June 29 (Antifreeze, batteries, motor oil and paint only)
  • Platte City, partnering with Weston and Platte County, Aug. 3
  • Richmond, Aug. 17
  • Parkville, partnering with Riverside, Aug. 24 (Antifreeze, batteries, motor oil and paint only)
  • Raymore, partnering with Belton, Sept. 28 (Antifreeze, batteries, motor oil and paint only)
  • Liberty, partnering with Clay County, Oct. 19 (Antifreeze, batteries, motor oil and paint only)

For specific locations, call the MARC Solid Waste Management District at 816-701-8226 or visit

Residents of participating communities may also drop off household hazardous waste for free at two permanent facilities located in Kansas City and Lee’s Summit. The Kansas City facility is located at 4707 Deramus St., and is open year-round on Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays. No appointment is needed. The Lee’s Summit facility at 2101 S.E. Hamblin Rd. is open the first Saturday and third Wednesday of each month, and appointments are required. Call 816-969-1805 to schedule an appointment.

Participating communities for 2013 include the cities of Belton, Blue Springs, Cleveland, Excelsior Springs, Garden City, Gladstone, Glenaire, Harrisonville, Independence, Kansas City, Mo., Kearney, Lake Tapawingo, Lake Waukomis, Lake Winnebago, Lee’s Summit, Liberty, Lone Jack, Parkville, Platte City, Pleasant Hill, Pleasant Valley, Raymore, Richmond, Riverside, Smithville, Sugar Creek, Weatherby Lake and Weston, along with unincorporated areas of Clay, Jackson and Platte counties.

The MARC Solid Waste Management District administers the Regional Household Hazardous Waste Program with funding provided in part by the Missouri Department of Natural Resources and participating cities and counties. Since the program’s inception in 1997, residents have safely disposed of 6 million pounds of household hazardous waste.

0 0 votes
Article Rating

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments