Skip to main content

Drop off hazardous waste at mobile sites

Residents can drop off household hazardous waste at 11 mobile collection sites during special events hosted this year by the Mid-America Regional Council Solid Waste Management District.

Since its inception 20 years ago, the program has collected more than seven million pounds of household hazardous waste and kept it out of the landfill and water systems. The program is offered to residents of 33 participating communities in Cass, Clay, Jackson, Platte and Ray counties. The 2017 schedule includes these Saturday collection events:


April 1, 9 a.m. – 1 p.m.

Independence Square, Walnut and Liberty streets

Blue Springs

April 22, 8 a.m. – Noon

Pink Hill Park on Highway 7


May 20, 8 a.m. – Noon

Happy Rock Park, 7600 NE Antioch Road

Pleasant Hill/Harrisonville

June 3, 8 a.m. – Noon

Cass County Fairgrounds on Highway 58


June 17, 8 a.m. – Noon

Kearney City Hall, 100 E Washington St.


July 1, 8 a.m. – Noon

Smithville High School, 645 S. Commercial Ave.

Platte County/Weston/Platte City

August 19, 8 a.m. – Noon

Platte Ridge Park, 17130 MO-371, Platte City


September 9, 8 a.m. – Noon

Eagle Glen Intermediate School, 100 S. Foxridge Road, Raymore


September 23, 8 a.m. – Noon

Richmond City Hall, 205 Summit St.

Grain Valley

October 7, 8 a.m. – Noon

Jackson County Public Works, 34900 E. Old U.S 40 Highway


October 28, 8 a.m. – Noon

Liberty School Services, 801 Kent St.

Common household hazardous products include paint, paint strippers, varnishes, adhesives and glues, hobby supplies, batteries, motor oil, compact fluorescent light bulbs, antifreeze, garden chemicals and pesticides. The chemicals in these products can poison, corrode, explode, or ignite easily when handled improperly. Because of these hazardous qualities, household hazardous waste cannot be thrown out with regular trash.

Residents of participating communities may bring their waste to any of the mobile collection events and either of the permanent collection facilities in Lee’s Summit (816-623-3066) and Kansas City, MO (816-513-8400) at no charge. The program accepts residential waste only. Proof of residency is required.

2017 participating Missouri communities include the cities of Belton, Blue Springs, Cleveland, Excelsior Springs, Garden City, Gladstone, Glenaire, Grain Valley, Greenwood, Harrisonville, Independence, Kansas City, Kearney, Lake Lotawana, Lake Tapawingo, Lake Waukomis, Lake Winnebago, Lawson, Lee’s Summit, Liberty, Lone Jack, North Kansas City, Parkville, Platte City, Pleasant Hill, Pleasant Valley, Raymore, Richmond, Riverside, Smithville, Sugar Creek, Weatherby Lake and Weston, as well as unincorporated Clay, Jackson and Platte counties.

Residents of non-participating communities may use the Lee’s Summit facility for a fee.

For more information on this and other environmental programs visit Household Hazardous Waste Collection or Recycle Spot  or call 816-701-8226.

Photo: Mid-America Regional Council

0 0 votes
Article Rating

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments