Skip to main content

Safely recycle household hazardous waste

It’s time to load up the old paint cans, motor oil, batteries and chemicals for a safe disposal at an upcoming area household hazardous waste event.

The Mid-America Regional Council Solid Waste Management District will host 11 mobile events to collect household hazardous waste for residents of 34 participating communities in Cass, Clay, Jackson, Platte and Ray counties. The goal is to keep dangerous chemicals and products out of the water and landfill systems to help protect the environment.

The 2018 schedule includes collection events in Blue Springs, April 28; Belton, May 12; Richmond, May 19; Harrisonville, June 9; Gladstone, June 23; Liberty, August 11; Platte County, August 25; Parkville, September 15; Excelsior Springs, September 22, Grain Valley, October 20, and Lake Lotawana, October 27. Details are online at RecycleSpot.

Since 1997, the Regional HHW Program has safely disposed more than 7 million pounds of HHW. Common household hazardous products include paint, paint strippers, varnishes, adhesives and glues, hobby supplies, batteries, motor oil, compact fluorescent light bulbs, antifreeze, lawn and garden chemicals, and pesticides. The chemicals in these products can poison, corrode, explode, or ignite easily when handled improperly. Because of these hazardous qualities, HHW cannot be thrown out with regular trash.

Residents of participating communities may bring HHW to any of the mobile collection events or one of two permanent collection facilities in Lee’s Summit and Kansas City, MO, at no charge. The program accepts residential waste only. Waste is not accepted from businesses — including home-based businesses, nonprofits, churches and rental properties. Proof of residency is required.

Belton, Blue Springs, Cleveland, Excelsior Springs, Garden City, Gladstone, Grain Valley, Greenwood, Harrisonville, Independence, Kansas City, Mo., Kearney, Lake Tapawingo, Lake Lotawana, Lake Waukomis, Lake Winnebago, Lawson, Lee’s Summit, Liberty, Lone Jack, North Kansas City, Parkville, Platte City, Pleasant Valley, Raymore, Richmond, Riverside, Smithville, Sugar Creek, Weatherby Lake and Weston, as well as unincorporated areas of Clay, Jackson and Platte counties. Other jurisdictions may join the program by paying a per capita fee to give their residents access to the Regional HHW Collection program. Residents of non-participating communities may use the Lee’s Summit facility for a fee.

For more information, visit or call 816-701-8226.

Photo: PA Resources Council / CC




0 0 votes
Article Rating

1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
John Fish Kurmann
John Fish Kurmann
6 years ago

Technically, little of what’s collected as household hazardous waste can be recycled – motor oil and batteries are the only two that come to mind – but it all needs to be safely disposed.